AGENDA ITEM No. 9

PEAK DISTRICT NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY

NATIONAL PARK AUTHORITY MEETING

28 MARCH 2008

CORPORATE RESOURCES

PART A

1. <u>AUTHORITY MEMBERSHIP CHANGES – CHESHIRE COUNCILS (EWJ/A.11)</u>

Proposal

1. To consider the options for future membership of the Authority following the introduction of unitary councils in the County of Cheshire in 2009.

2. <u>RECOMMENDATION</u>:

That the meeting agrees a response to Defra on the options for future membership of the Authority following the introduction of unitary councils in Cheshire in 2009.

Policy/Legal Background

- 3. The current membership of the Authority is governed by The National Park Authorities (England) Order 2006. The Order specifies the total membership of the Authority as 30 members made up of 16 members appointed by the constituent councils; 14 members appointed by the Secretary of State with 6 of those members being parish members. The allocation of membership to the constituent councils is shown in more detail in the Appendix.
- 4 The Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government has considered options for the introduction of single tier unitary authorities in Cheshire under the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007. He has agreed to two unitary authorities to be effective from 1st April 2009. Two new non metropolitan district councils "Cheshire East Council" and "Cheshire West and Chester Council" will be established. Cheshire County Council and Macclesfield Borough Council will therefore be wound up and dissolved on that date. These changes are implemented by The Cheshire (Structural Changes) Order 2008.
- 5. The area of the National Park in Cheshire is currently administered by Macclesfield Borough Council. The administrative area for the new Cheshire East Council will be the areas currently administered by Macclesfield Borough Council, Congleton Borough Council, and Crewe and Nantwich Borough Council.

Key Issues

- Cheshire County Council and Macclesfield Borough Council both appoint one Member each to the Authority. The current term of office on the Authority of those Members will end on 1st April 2009.
- 7. Defra have requested a response from the Authority on the options available for changes to the membership of the Authority on the establishment of the Cheshire East Council in 2009.

- 8. An extract from the Defra consultation letter is attached as Annex 1 to the report.
- 9. The possible options for changes to the membership are as follows:
 - a) Cheshire East Council appoints two Members.
 - b) Cheshire East Council appoints one Member with the total membership of the Authority reduced to 29.
 - c) Cheshire East Council appoints one Member with the other Member being appointed by one of the Authority's other constituent councils.

1

APPENDIX

Background

The number of Members appointed by each constituent council under The National Park Authorities (England) Order 2006 are as follows:

4	Derbyshire Dales District Council	2
1	High Peak Borough Council	1
1	North East Derbyshire District Council	1
1	Macclesfield Borough Council	1
1	Staffordshire Moorlands District Council	1
1		
1	<u>Total</u>	16
	4 1 1 1 1 1	 High Peak Borough Council North East Derbyshire District Council Macclesfield Borough Council Staffordshire Moorlands District Council

Resources

2 There are no significant additional resource issues. A reduction in the total membership of the Authority will result is a small saving in the Members allowances budget.

Risk Management

3 There are no risks arising out of the report.

Human Rights, Equalities, Health & Safety

4 There are no issues that arise out of the report.

Consultees

5 The Chief Executive has been consulted on the report

Enclosures

6 None

List of Background Papers (not previously published)

7. None

Report Author

8 Eugene Judge Democratic Services Manager.

Publication date

9 15 May 2008.