Our Members by Appointing Authority

Scroll down the page to find out more about existing Members

Our Members

There are 30 Members of the National Park Authority, 16 are appointed by county, district, city or borough councils and 14 are appointed directly by the Secretary of State, of these 8 are appointed because they are specialists in the issues that affect the national park, 6 are parish councillors selected through a ballot of parish councils and parish meetings.

Our Members come from a range of backgrounds and offer a wealth of knowledge and experience. What they all share is a passion for the Peak District National Park

Members are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Authority are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are available for inspection and published here on the website under the details for each Member.

To find more information about our Members please use the links below which allow you to sort them alphabetically or by appointing authority.

 Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council

 Cheshire East Council

 Derbyshire County Council

 Derbyshire Dales District Council

 High Peak Borough Council

 Kirklees Borough Council

 North East Derbyshire District Council

 Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State

 Secretary of State

 Sheffield City Council

 Staffordshire County Council

 Staffordshire Moorlands District Council

Independent Persons

In accordance with provisions within the Localism Act 2011 the Authority has appointed the following Independent Persons:

Philip Sunderland

Jean Walker

More information about the role of Independent Persons