Our Members by Appointing Authority

Scroll down the page to find out more about existing Members

Our Members

There are 30 Members of the National Park Authority, 16 are appointed by county, district, city or borough councils and 14 are appointed directly by the Secretary of State, of these 8 are appointed because they are specialists in the issues that affect the national park, 6 are parish councillors selected through a ballot of parish councils and parish meetings.

Our Members come from a range of backgrounds and offer a wealth of knowledge and experience. What they all share is a passion for the Peak District National Park

Members are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Authority are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are available for inspection and published here on the website under the details for each Member.

To find more information about our Members please use the links below which allow you to sort them alphabetically or by appointing authority.

Member by Appointing Authority
Photograph Member Member Representative Role Appointing Authority
photo of Councillor Ken Richardson

Councillor Ken Richardson

PO Box 634, Barnsley, S70 9GG

Work: 01226 773555

Work: ken.richardson@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council
photo of Councillor Chris O'Leary

Councillor Chris O'Leary

Work: chris.o'leary@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Cheshire East Council
photo of Councillor Nigel Gourlay

Councillor Nigel Gourlay

Ashworth House, Long Lane, Chapel-en-le-Frith, High Peak, SK23 0TF

Home mobile: 07568558714

Work: nigel.gourlay@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Derbyshire County Council
photo of Councillor Dermot Murphy

Councillor Dermot Murphy

39 Stanton Road, Ashbourne, Derbyshire, DE6 1SH

Home mobile: 07794 327817

Work: Dermot.Murphy@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Derbyshire County Council
photo of Councillor Jean Wharmby

Councillor Jean Wharmby

199 Sheffield Road, Glossop, Derbyshire, SK13 8QX

Home mobile: 07970 741717

Work: Jean.Wharmby@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Derbyshire County Council
photo of Councillor Becki Woods

Councillor Becki Woods

1 Church Street, Hadfield, Glossop, SK13 2AD

Home: 07970 741890

Home mobile: 07970 741890

Work: becki.woods@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Member Learning and Development Derbyshire County Council
photo of Councillor Matthew Buckler

Councillor Matthew Buckler

Work: matthew.buckler@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Derbyshire Dales District Council
photo of Councillor Andy Nash

Councillor Andy Nash

C/o Aldern House, Baslow Road, Bakewell, Derbyshire, DE4 3DE

Home: 07891136555

Work: andy.nash@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Thriving and Sustainable Communities Derbyshire Dales District Council
photo of Councillor Charlotte Farrell

Councillor Charlotte Farrell

30 Brentwood Road, Bamford, Hope Valley, S33 0AG

Home: 01433 651523

Home mobile: 07976 980639

Work: charlotte.farrell@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Climate Change High Peak Borough Council
photo of Councillor Ian Huddlestone

Councillor Ian Huddlestone

45 Albion Road, New Mills, SK22 3EX

Home: 01663 747048

Home mobile: 07919 467744

Work: ian.huddlestone@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  High Peak Borough Council
photo of Councillor Charles Greaves

Councillor Charles Greaves

Vice Chair of Programmes and Resources Committee

47 Meltham Road, Honley, Holmfirth, HD9 6HW

Work: Charles.Greaves@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Kirklees Borough Council
photo of Councillor Lee Hartshorne

Councillor Lee Hartshorne

27 Oak Road, Grassmoor, Chesterfield, S42 5YA

Home: 07796 677376

Work: lee.hartshorne@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  North East Derbyshire District Council
photo of Councillor Paul Fryer

Councillor Paul Fryer

53 Dalton Street, Failsworth, Oldham, M35 0DU

Work: paul.fryer@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council
photo of Councillor Martin Beer

Councillor Martin Beer

Windmill Cottage, Windmill, Buxton, Derbyshire, SK17 8RE

Home: 01298 872809

Work: martin.beer@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Patrick Brady

Councillor Patrick Brady

Chair of Planning Committee

Ades Croft, Off Main Street, Taddington, Buxton, SK17 9TZ

Home: 01298 85798 (before 5.30pm)

Work: patrick.brady@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Andrew Gregory

Councillor Andrew Gregory

Cheshire Hunt Lodge, Spuley Lane, Rainow, Cheshire, SK10 5DE

Home: andrew.gregory@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Business Economy Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Bill Hanley

Councillor Bill Hanley

Work: bill.hanley@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Kath Potter

Councillor Kath Potter

Woodside, Stanton Lees, Matlock, DE4 2LQ

Home: 01629 734320

Work: kath.potter@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Virginia  Priestley

Councillor Virginia Priestley

Vice Chair of Planning

Lydgate Bungalow, Ashopton Road, Bamford, Hope Valley, S33 0AZ

Work: virginia.priestley@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Natural Environment, Biodiversity and Farming Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Mr James Berresford

Mr James Berresford

Deputy Chair of the Authority

Rockside, The Rock, Bakewell, DE45 1DH

Home: 07810 528460

Work: james.berresford@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Secretary of State
photo of Professor Janet Haddock-Fraser

Professor Janet Haddock-Fraser

Chair of Programmes and Resources Committee

Peak District National Park Authority, Aldern House, Baslow Road, Bakewell, Derbyshire, DE45 1AE

Work: 01629 816352

Work: janet.haddock-fraser@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Climate Change Secretary of State
photo of Ms Annabelle Harling

Ms Annabelle Harling

C/O Peak District National Park Authority, Aldern House, Baslow Road, Bakewell, Derbyshire, DE45 1AE

Work: 01629 816352

Work: annabelle.harling@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Thriving and Sustainable Communities Secretary of State
photo of Miss Lydia Slack

Miss Lydia Slack

Peak District National Park Authority, Aldern House, Baslow Road, Bakewell, DE45 1AE

Work: lydia.slack@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Secretary of State
photo of Mr Ken Smith

Mr Ken Smith

Chair of the Authority

c/o Peak District National Park Authority, Aldern House, Baslow Road, Bakewell, Derbyshire, DE45 1AE

Work: 01629 816352

Work: ken.smith@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Cultural Heritage and Landscapes Secretary of State
photo of Dr Ruth Swetnam

Dr Ruth Swetnam

Peak District National Park Authority, Aldern House, Baslow Road, Bakewell, DE45 1AE

Work: 01629 816352

Work: Ruth.Swetnam@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Secretary of State
photo of Mr Simon Thompson

Mr Simon Thompson

Peak District National Park Authority, Aldern House, Baslow Road, Bakewell, DE45 1AE

Work: 01629 816352

Work: Simon.Thompson@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Secretary of State
photo of Ms Yvonne Witter

Ms Yvonne Witter

Peak District National Park Authority, Aldern House, Baslow Road, Bakewell, DE45 1AE

Work: 01629 816352

Work: yvonne.witter@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Engagement Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Mike Chaplin

Councillor Mike Chaplin

280 Fox Hill Road, Sheffield, S6 1BH

Work: 0114 273 5380

Home mobile: 07789 549790

Work: mike.chaplin@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Sheffield City Council
photo of Councillor Gill Heath

Councillor Gill Heath

Highfield House, Highfield, Leek, ST13 8SG

Home: 01538 381601

Work: gill.heath@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Staffordshire County Council
photo of Councillor Andrew Hart

Councillor Andrew Hart

The Granary,, Woodhouse Farm, Woodhouse Lane, Biddulph, ST8 7RJ

Home: 01782 379431

Work: andrew.hart@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Staffordshire Moorlands District Council

Independent Persons

In accordance with provisions within the Localism Act 2011 the Authority has appointed the following Independent Persons:

Philip Sunderland

Jean Walker

More information about the role of Independent Persons