Menu
planning-background.jpg

Our Members

Scroll down the page to find out more about existing Members

Secretary of State Member Recruitment 2019

Lord Gardiner of Kimble, the Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Rural Affairs and Biosecurity, is looking for expressions of interest from passionate and committed individuals from all backgrounds who want to help shape the strategic direction of the Peak District National Park Authority by filling one of the current three vacancies. Show more information The closinng date for applications is 12 noon on Monday 13 May 2019.

Our Members

There are 30 Members of the National Park Authority, 16 are appointed by county, district, city or borough councils and 14 are appointed directly by the Secretary of State, of these 8 are appointed because they are specialists in the issues that affect the national park, 6 are parish councillors selected through a ballot of parish councils and parish meetings.

Our Members come from a range of backgrounds and offer a wealth of knowledge and experience. What they all share is a passion for the Peak District National Park

Members are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Authority are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are available for inspection and published here on the website under the details for each Member.

To find more information about our Members please use the links below which allow you to sort them alphabetically or by appointing authority.

Member
Photograph Member Member Representative Role Appointing Authority
photo of Councillor Andrew McCloy

Councillor Andrew McCloy

Chair of the Authority

c/o Peak District National Park Authority, Aldern House, Baslow Road, Bakewell, DE45 1AE

Work: 01629 816323

Work: andrew.mccloy@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor David Chapman

Councillor David Chapman

Deputy Chair of the Authority

The Green, Chelmorton, Derbyshire, SK17 9SL

Home: 01298 85067

Home mobile: 07871 763449

Work: david.chapman@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Planning Enforcement Derbyshire Dales District Council
Member
Photograph Member Member Representative Role Appointing Authority
photo of Mr Paul Ancell

Mr Paul Ancell

18 Marlborough Drive, Macclesfield, Cheshire, SK10 2JX

Home: 01625 613995

Work: paul.ancell@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Secretary of State
photo of Councillor William Armitage

Councillor William Armitage

Greenbank, Hockley Lane, Ashover, Chesterfield, S45 0ER

Home: 01246 590486

  North East Derbyshire District Council
photo of Councillor Jason Atkin

Councillor Jason Atkin

18 Olympian Way, Darley Dale, DE4 2GX

Home: 01629 258834

Work: jason.atkin@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Derbyshire County Council
photo of Mr James Berresford

Mr James Berresford

Vice Chair of Programmes and Resources Committee

Rockside, The Rock, Bakewell, DE45 1DH

Home: 07810 528460

Work: james.berresford@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Tourism and Participation Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Doug Birkinshaw

Councillor Doug Birkinshaw

Vice-Chair of Planning Committee

48 Albion House, Union Street, Barnsley, S70 1JT

Work: 01226 770770

Work: doug.birkinshaw@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council
photo of Councillor Patrick Brady

Councillor Patrick Brady

Ades Croft, Off Main Street, Taddington, Buxton, SK17 9TZ

Home: 01298 85798

Work: patrick.brady@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Communities Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Mike Chaplin

Councillor Mike Chaplin

280 Fox Hill Road, Sheffield, S6 1BH

Work: 0114 273 5380

Home mobile: 07789 549790

Work: mike.chaplin@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Sheffield City Council
photo of Councillor Charlotte Farrell

Councillor Charlotte Farrell

30 Brentwood Road, Bamford, Hope Valley, S33 0AG

Home: 01433 651523

Home mobile: 07976 980639

Thriving Natural Environments High Peak Borough Council
photo of Councillor Chris Furness

Councillor Chris Furness

High Low, Hungry Lane, Bradwell, Hope Valley, S33 9JD

Home: 01433 621811

Work: chris.furness@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Rural Economy Derbyshire Dales District Council
photo of Councillor Andrew Gregory

Councillor Andrew Gregory

Cheshire East Council, Westfields, Middlewich Road, Sandbach, CW11 1HZ

Home: andrew.gregory@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Cheshire East Council
photo of Dr Janet Haddock-Fraser

Dr Janet Haddock-Fraser

Alban House, Main Street, Taddington, Derbyshire, SK17 9TY

Work: janet.haddock-fraser@peakdistrict.gov.uk

   
photo of Mr Zahid Hamid

Mr Zahid Hamid

Chair of Programmes and Resources Committee

13 Hartington Avenue, Sheffield, S7 2LG

Home: 0114 2366332

Work: zahid.hamid@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Connecting Young People with Nature Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Andrew Hart

Councillor Andrew Hart

The Granary,, Woodhouse Farm, Woodhouse Lane, Biddulph, ST8 7RJ

Home: 01782 379431

Work: andrew.hart@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Staffordshire Moorlands District Council
photo of Councillor Gill Heath

Councillor Gill Heath

Highfield House, Highfield, Leek, ST13 8SG

Home: 01538 381601

Work: gill.heath@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Staffordshire County Council
photo of Mr Robert Helliwell

Mr Robert Helliwell

Chair of Planning Committee

Upper Booth Farm, Edale, Hope Valley, S33 7ZJ

Home: 01433 670250

Work: robert.helliwell@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Food and Farming Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Ian Huddlestone

Councillor Ian Huddlestone

45 Albion Road, New Mills, SK22 3EX

Home: 01663 747048

Home mobile: 07919 467744

  High Peak Borough Council
photo of Councillor Barry Lewis

Councillor Barry Lewis

Derbyshire County Council, County Hall, Matlock, Derbyshire, DE4 3AG

Home mobile: 07920 484207

Work: barry.lewis@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Derbyshire County Council
photo of Councillor Colin McLaren

Councillor Colin McLaren

4 Rowanwood, Firwood Park, Chadderton, Oldham, OL9 9TH

Home: 0161 627 4197

Work: colin.mclaren@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Health and Wellbeing Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council
photo of Councillor Kath Potter

Councillor Kath Potter

Woodside, Stanton Lees, Matlock, DE4 2LQ

Home: 01629 734320

Work: kath.potter@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Virginia  Priestley

Councillor Virginia Priestley

Lydgate Bungalow, Ashopton Road, Bamford, Hope Valley, S33 0AZ

  Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Miss Lydia Slack

Miss Lydia Slack

33 Woodbrook, Whaley Bridge, SK23 7NT

Work: lydia.slack@peakdistrict.gov.uk

   
photo of Mr Ken Smith

Mr Ken Smith

c/o Peak District National Park Authority, Aldern House, Baslow Road, Bakewell, Derbyshire, DE45 1AE

Work: 01629 816382

Work: ken.smith@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Landscape and Heritage Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Peter Tapping

Councillor Peter Tapping

The Laurels, Biggin, Buxton, SK17 0DQ

  Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Robert Walker

Councillor Robert Walker

Civic Centre 3, High Street, Huddersfield, HD1 2TG

Work: 01484 221000

Work: robert.walker@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Kirklees Borough Council
photo of Mrs  Caroline Waller

Mrs Caroline Waller

Blaze Farm, Wildboarclough, Macclesfield, Cheshire, SK11 0BL

  Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor George Wharmby

Councillor George Wharmby

199 Sheffield Road, Glossop, SK13 8QX

Home: 01457 856905

Home mobile: 07970 741556

  Derbyshire County Council
photo of Ms Yvonne Witter

Ms Yvonne Witter

8 Ronald Road, Darnall, Sheffield, S9 4RH

Work: yvonne.witter@peakdistrict.gov.uk

   
photo of Councillor Becki Woods

Councillor Becki Woods

1 Church Street, Hadfield, Glossop, SK13 2AD

Home: 07970 741890

Home mobile: 07970 741890

Work: becki.woods@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Member Learning and Development Derbyshire County Council

Independent Persons

In accordance with provisions within the Localism Act 2011 the Authority has appointed the following Independent Persons:

Philip Sunderland

Jean Walker

More information about the role of Independent Persons