planning-background.jpg

Our Members


Our Members

There are 30 Members of the National Park Authority, 16 are appointed by county, district, city or borough councils and 14 are appointed directly by the Secretary of State, of these 8 are appointed because they are specialists in the issues that affect the national park, 6 are parish councillors selected through a ballot of parish councils and parish meetings.

Our Members come from a range of backgrounds and offer a wealth of knowledge and experience. What they all share is a passion for the Peak District National Park

Members are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Authority are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are available for inspection and published here on the website under the details for each Member.

To find more information about our Members please use the links below which allow you to sort them alphabetically or by appointing authority.

Member
Photograph Member Member Representative Role Appointing Authority
photo of Councillor Lesley Roberts

Councillor Lesley Roberts

Chair of the Authority

The Grove, Mount Road, Leek, ST13 5BU

Home: 01538 388900

Work: lesley.roberts@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor David Chapman

Councillor David Chapman

Deputy Chair of the Authority

The Green, Chelmorton, Derbyshire, SK17 9SL

Home: 01298 85067

Home mobile: 0776 9328333

Work: david.chapman@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Planning Enforcement Derbyshire Dales District Council
Member
Photograph Member Member Representative Role Appointing Authority
photo of Mr Paul Ancell

Mr Paul Ancell

Chair of Planning Committee

18 Marlborough Drive, Macclesfield, Cheshire, SK10 2JX

Home: 01625 613995

Work: paul.ancell@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Secretary of State
photo of Mrs Penny Anderson

Mrs Penny Anderson

Town Head Farm,, Town Head,, Longnor,, Buxton, SK17 0PJ

Work: penny.anderson@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Biodiversity and Climate Change Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Jason Atkin

Councillor Jason Atkin

18 Olympian Way, Darley Dale, DE4 2GX

  Derbyshire County Council
photo of Mrs Frances Beatty

Mrs Frances Beatty

Willoughby House, 1 Newbolt Walk, St George's Parkway, Stafford, ST16 3WY

Home: 01785 240667

Work: dst@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Doug Birkinshaw

Councillor Doug Birkinshaw

Vice-Chair of Planning Committee

48 Albion House, Union Street, Barnsley, S70 1JT

Work: 01226 770770

Work: doug.birkinshaw@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council
photo of Councillor Patrick Brady

Councillor Patrick Brady

Ades Croft, Off Main Street, Taddington, Buxton, SK17 9TZ

Home: 01298 85798

Work: patrick.brady@peakdistrict.gov.uk

People and Communities Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Chris Carr

Councillor Chris Carr

Town Head Farm, Tissington, Ashbourne, Derbyshire, DE6 1RA

Home: 01335 390342

Work: chris.carr@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Tourism Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Tony Favell

Councillor Tony Favell

Skinners Hall, Edale, Hope Valley, S33 7ZE

Home: 01433 670281

Home mobile: 07798 524673

Work: tony.favell@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Asset Management Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Chris Furness

Councillor Chris Furness

High Low, Hungry Lane, Bradwell, Hope Valley, S33 9JD

Home: 01433 621811

Work: chris.furness@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Economy Derbyshire Dales District Council
photo of Mr Zahid Hamid

Mr Zahid Hamid

13 Hartington Avenue, Sheffield, S7 2LG

Home: 0114 2366332

Work: zahid.hamid@peakdistrict.gov.uk

People and Communities and Promoting Understanding Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Andrew Hart

Councillor Andrew Hart

The Granary,, Woodhouse Farm, Woodhouse Lane, Biddulph, ST8 7RJ

Home: 01782 379431

Work: andrew.hart@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Staffordshire Moorlands District Council
photo of Councillor Gill Heath

Councillor Gill Heath

Highfield House, Highfield, Leek, ST13 8SG

Home: 01538 381601

Work: gill.heath@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Staffordshire County Council
photo of Mr Robert Helliwell

Mr Robert Helliwell

Upper Booth Farm, Edale, Hope Valley, S33 7ZJ

Home: 01433 670250

Work: robert.helliwell@peakdistrict.gov.uk

Landscape Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Caroline Howe

Councillor Caroline Howe

1 Buxworth Hall, Buxworth, High Peak, SK23 7RH

Home: 07800 819901

Work: caroline.howe@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  High Peak Borough Council
photo of Councillor Alan Law

Councillor Alan Law

5 St Helen Road, Deepcar, Sheffield, S36 2TQ

Work: 0114 273 5380

Home: 0114 2883405

Work: alan.law@sheffield.gov.uk

  Sheffield City Council
photo of Councillor Harold Laws

Councillor Harold Laws

36 Norwood Crescent, Killamarsh, Sheffield, S21 2DC

Home: 0114 247 5376

Work: harold.laws@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  North East Derbyshire District Council
photo of Councillor William Jamie Macrae

Councillor William Jamie Macrae

Tollgate Cottage, 10 Greenwood Terrace, Town Lane, Mobberley, Knutsford, Cheshire, WA16 7HL

Home: 07872 807367

Work: jamie.macrae@cheshireeast.gov.uk

  Cheshire East Council
photo of Councillor Andrew McCloy

Councillor Andrew McCloy

Chair of ARP Committee

Englemere, Brookleton, Youlgrave, DE45 1UT

Home: 01629 636125

Work: andrew.mccloy@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Colin McLaren

Councillor Colin McLaren

4 Rowanwood, Firwood Park, Chadderton, Oldham, OL9 9TH

Home: 0161 627 4197

Work: colin.mclaren@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council
photo of Councillor Jim Perkins

Councillor Jim Perkins

74 Horsefair Avenue, Chapel-en-le-Frith, SK23 9SF

  Derbyshire County Council
photo of Councillor Kath Potter

Councillor Kath Potter

Woodside, Stanton Lees, Matlock, DE4 2LQ

Home: 01629 734320

Work: kath.potter@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Parish Member Appointed by Secretary of State
photo of Councillor Nicola Turner

Councillor Nicola Turner

5 Pike Law Road, Golcar, Huddersfield, HD7 4NL

Work: nicola.turner@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Kirklees Borough Council
photo of Councillor Judith Twigg

Councillor Judith Twigg

Bene Dorme, The Avenue, Bakewell, Derbyshire, DE45 1EQ

Home: 01629 813292

Work: judith.twigg@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  Derbyshire County Council
photo of Councillor John Walton

Councillor John Walton

Vice Chair of Audit, Resources and Performance Committee

Lydgate Bungalow, Ashopton Road, Bamford, Hope Valley, S22 0AZ

Home: 01433 650031

Work: john.walton@peakdistrict.gov.uk

  High Peak Borough Council
photo of Councillor Becki Woods

Councillor Becki Woods

12 Booth Court, Glossop, SK13 8BU

  Derbyshire County Council

Independent Persons

In accordance with provisions within the Localism Act 2011 the Authority has appointed the following Independent Persons:

Philip Sunderland

Jean Walker

More information about the role of Independent Persons